Food That Speaks To You.. In Spanish!

A few recipes from all over the Spanish-speaking world

Tomaticán (Chilean Tomato and Corn Stew)

IMG_1436

Tomaticán is a main course dish from the central regions of Chile. Literally meaning “tomato stew” it is not uncommon for a lot of variations in the dish. For example another basic recipe includes cumin, tomatoes, cilantro, olive oil, corn, lima beans or avocado, onion, chili pepper, salt and grated cheese. It is typically eaten by the locals with slices of bread but it can also be served over rice, polenta, quinoa, with warm tortillas or cornbread. Especially popular in Santiago but all around the country as well, it is served hot or cold, especially in summer, with grated cheese garnishing the plate. There is not a lot of information on the origin and history of tomaticán but there is more information about related dishes such as charquicán which the idea for tomaticán may have stemmed from at http://eatingchile.blogspot.com/2009/06/charquican-tomatican-and-other-cans_11.html.

800px-Tomato_and_corn_soup_01

Ingredients:

1 large onion, peeled & finely chopped

3 cloves garlic, peeled & chopped

2 Tbsps olive oil

3 large plum tomatoes, peeled & diced

1 cup fresh or frozen corn kernels

1 pinch fresh parsley, chopped

Salt to taste

In a large saucepan, cook the onion & garlic in hot oil.

Add the tomatoes & cook covered for 5 minutes

Add the corn & cook for another 3 minutes

Add salt to taste, sprinkle parsley on top

Serve hot.

 This dish was super easy and relatively quick to make. Unfortunately Spanish-speaking countries’ cuisines apparently like onions because all the recipes I am trying involve me crying during preparation as a result of cutting onions. It is worth the tears in the end though! I ate my tomaticán as my main dish for dinner the other night and it hit my spot. It was warm and hearty but not over-filling. I ate the entire amount myself in one night which was about two bowls full. I tasted it first to see if I would want salt added to it and I thought it was great without the salt but I tried some with salt added too. If you want to add salt I suggest adding very little because it came out great as it was. Hope you enjoy this one as much as I did!

One comment on “Tomaticán (Chilean Tomato and Corn Stew)

  1. huitzilin
    December 17, 2012

    Interesting. Almost all the main ingredients are indigenous to the Americas. I know very little about Chilean cuisine, but this sounds really good! I’m not surprised you ate both bowls in one night. 🙂

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 11, 2012 by .